Performa 17 Closing Night and Grand Finale

Public Arts

215 Chrystie Street

New York, NY 10002

$15 / $12 members/ $10 students

The Performa 17 Grand Finale celebrates the closing of the biennial, the many works that made this point in time such a special one in the city, and the presentation of The Malcolm McLaren Award in honor of the late artist and visionary for whom the award is named. Championing the young and bold, the Malcolm McLaren prize is awarded to an artist whose contribution to the biennial demonstrates a risk-taking and irreverent spirit; praising the most innovative and thought-provoking performance. The award, created by designer Marc Newson, will be presented at the Grand Finale on the last night of the Performa 17 Biennial. The first Malcolm McLaren Award was presented by Lou Reed to Ragnar Kjartansson at the close of Performa 11 for his epic Performa Commission Bliss. The second, awarded at the end of Performa 13, celebrated Ryan and was presented by Christian Marclay. For Performa 15 the award was presented to Edgar Arceneaux for Until, Until, Until by Richard Hell.The Malcolm McLaren Award was initiated by McLaren’s life partner Young Kim and curator Mark Beasley. Full line up of performances to be announced.

DJ VENUS X of GHE20G0TH1K will be headlining 

Carlo McCormick, author and curator, will be presenting The Malcolm McLaren Award

Image credit: Photos by Cameron Cuchulainn


More about this artist